Life is Ruff When We’re Apart.

This spring season more than ever I have been hit in the face with puppies and dogs galore. Springs in Chapel Hill are beautiful by themselves, but add a dog running through the bright green quad and boy do you fall into a sentimental mess so quickly!

Then I begin looking up all the pictures of happy dogs I can find and I beg my friends’ with dogs to let me doggynap them for a bit. This is because I LOVE dogs and while away at college I am ALWAYS missing mine. Her name is Oreo. **Side note: my dog before her was named Twinkie, I think this shows my dad is obsessed with food!**

Oreo and I have been the best of friends since the fourth grade. We met because someone had dropped her and her brother in a box on the side of the road in my childhood friend’s neighborhood. After begging and begging my parents, she was welcomed home a few days later. Since then she has been a intricate part of our family, bringing lots of goofy joy to our house. After being inseparable day-after-day for nine years, leaving her for college was one of my hardest goodbyes. But now each trip home makes me excited for our reuniting party and the fun times have not stopped since college began.

She occasionally wears cheerleading outfits to support me at my games and never refuses to take a selfie with me!

Oreo never denies a chance to go on a field trip to visit Chapel Hill even if she hates car rides and hot bricks! On this tour around campus she was not about stopping to pose at the historic places, so instead I had to snap a pic when she was walking by. She is still lookng mighty fine, so I am okay with it!

IMG_3856

She ALWAYS makes a bad day better, as I think most pets do. As she continues to get older I miss her so much and get sad thinking about not spending some of her last few years with her. I hope she knows how loved she is and understands that my absence is not abandonment.

If you are in the same situation remember to show your four-legged friends just as much love as your human ones! You can’t call them. And plus nothing beats seeing the joy come to their face when you walk through the door. She is my favorite welcoming committee and has taught me invaluable lessons about unconditional love, playfulness, loyalty and forgiveness!

Wish we could be together more often, but revisiting the pictures of our selfies will have to do!

Spread contagious Joy & Laughter.

~Carly

Leave a Reply

